It's literary fiction through and through; this book is not for those who want a quick read that doesn't require deeper reflection. I think that this is a good read-alike for Beloved and Their Eyes Were Watching God. In fact, this book relies on narratives such as these, narratives the reader might be familiar with, so that it can subvert their expectations. Whitehead plays with time like it's putty in this telling of Black American history; he folds together events and experiences from slavery to Jim Crow until they are indistinguishable from one another. This is not a book about slavery, it's a book about being Black in America.

JoyAndVerve's rating:
[]
[]
To Top