They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Receiving word from Death-Cast that they are about to die, Mateo and Rufus meet for the first time via an End Day friendship app that facilitates their meeting and a final grand adventure that triggers unexpected changes. Simultaneous eBook. 75,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”



Publisher: Harperteen,, 2017
ISBN: 9780062457813
0062457810
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

samcmar Nov 06, 2017

I read this book in two long sittings. I was glued to the pages and intrigued by the concept of The Last Friend app and Death-Cast calls. The idea of having a phone call tell you that it's your last day to live is utterly terrifying, but also a bizarre motivator to attempt to live your last day to the fullest. Silvera pulls no punches with this story -- it's emotional, it's raw, and it's going to hurt like hell.

As the title suggests, Mateo and Rufus are going to die at the end of the story. The problem with this is that Silvera makes you fall deeply in love with both boys so that when this happens it rips your heart out and the belief in love is destroyed. You never truly feel ready for the impact of the end of this book and that's probably why it works so well. There's moments where Silvera tries to fake out the reader in when the boys are going to die and it just pulls at the heartstrings.

I loved Mateo and Rufus. Mateo's anxiety, his father being in a coma, and his fears of leaving the world without real accomplishment was something I truly could empathize with. He doesn't hold himself in high regard, but once he meets Rufus you see Mateo come out of his shell, even if it almost feels like it's too late. As for Rufus, he's a character that understands the kinds of wrong-doings he's committed, and you get a large sense that he wants to atone for past action and strive to be someone better... even if he only gets a day to do it. In a lot of ways that's why this story works so well is you're seeing all these positive changes in these characters, but you know that this is all brought down because it's their last day to be alive.

I even liked the side characters, especially Aimee and Lidia. I feel like they added a lot of characterization to both Mateo and Rufus. I also liked the little vignettes of other people in the story either receiving the call or not and how that affects their day or last day for that matter. They are cleverly done and just as punch as the main story.

And it hurts so much. I cried, I was angry, I felt tired after finishing this book because my feelings were all over the place. They Both Die at the End was a heavy, emotional read for me, but it was one I flew through because I found myself connecting so deeply with the story and it's characters. There is no right headspace for reading this book, just remember that the title rings true and that you're going to need a lot of tissues to get through this one.

n
Needlz
Oct 23, 2017

2.5 stars. I'm not sure what this was but it definitely did not read like an Adam Silvera book. I felt it lacked the deep, emotional, crush-your-heart-into-one-million pieces feeling that I felt with "History is All You Left Me".

Two teenagers, Mateo and Rufus are going to die sometime within the next 24 hours so they download an app called "The Last Friend" and connect with each other. The middle 250 pages of the book follows Mateo and Rufus as they go about their last hours on Earth and do things they've always wanted to do. Which, isn't much of anything. To be honest, if I was told I had 24 hours to live I would try and live the last of my time to the best of my abilities, but these two weren't full of excitement or adventurous, the story just dragged along and it felt like a long commute to the office on a Monday morning. I just wanted more. Loving Silvera's previous work made me expect more. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who wasn't already a fan of Silvera's work. Read "History Is All You Left Me" instead.

i
IzPowerRanger
Oct 21, 2017

I enjoyed the characters but my main issue was the Science and the Death Cast thing. A great contemporary story but just lose the science.

m
MeaninglessBark
Oct 07, 2017

A good enough read, but it'd not as good as Silvera's previous work. The biggest flaw is the novel feels bloated with side characters that have nothing to do (or as nothing to) the story. If you do some editing and just skip all the chapters that aren't about the two main characters it reads well. But the main characters lack the depth of those found in More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top