The Dragon With A Chocolate Heart

The Dragon With A Chocolate Heart

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Bloomsbury
Aventurine is a brave young dragon ready to explore the world outside of her family's mountain cave . . . if only they'd let her leave it. Her family thinks she's too young to fly on her own, but she's determined to prove them wrong by capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human.

But when that human tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she's transformed into a puny human without any sharp teeth, fire breath, or claws. Still, she's the fiercest creature in these mountains--and now she's found her true passion: chocolate. All she has to do is get to the human city to find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she'll be conquering new territory in no time . . . won't she?

A classic fantasy with terrific girl power, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George.

Praise for Kat, Incorrigible
Bank Street Best Books of 2012
A Spring 2011 Kids' Indie Next pick
A 2012 ALA/ALSC Notable Children's Book
A Top 40 Pick for the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA,, 2017
ISBN: 9781681194431
1681194430
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
haminheadley
Sep 22, 2017

Juvenile level fiction always takes me a bit to get into, but Dragon with a Chocolate Heart charmed me from the beginning.

Aventurine is a dragon trying to find her path in life and getting frustrated with other dragons not taking her seriously, so naturally, she sets off on her own to prove herself. Unfortunately, she's distracted from her first hunting attempt with the scent of something heavenly and life-changing--enchanted chocolate that both sets her on a new path of purpose... and turns her into a helpless, clawless, wingless human girl of about 12 whom, it turns out, still doesn't get taken seriously by adults and definitely doesn't understand humans, aspects that create moments of gentle humor throughout.

Aventurine may be stuck as a girl for now, but she remembers that she is truly a dragon, a fact that leaves her a bit arrogant and rather surly. I appreciated this depiction since it sympathetically shows a girl who's allowed to be, well, not that nice at first. She learns a lot, of course, about friendship, about humanity, about working hard for something you're passionate about, about failing and getting back up afterwards, about diplomacy, about treachery, and ultimately, about learning to come to terms with both aspects of herself, the girl and the dragon. And, of course, how to make the perfect hot chocolate. Throughout most of the tale, though, Aventurine has a healthy dose of self-assurance and confidence, which I adored. Her mentors are also strong women, confident and competent in different areas, helping Aventurine navigate her way through the confusing world of humans.

Overall, a very fun romp, perfect for anyone looking for strong heroine stories, chocolate lovers, or fans of Patricia Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top