The Castle in the Mist

The Castle in the Mist

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement—and the dangers—of wishing.

Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt’s sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn’t disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is.
 
But at William’s castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone.
 
In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they’d wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden—and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real.

Praise for The Castle in the Mist:

“Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron’s first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways.”—Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

"This beautiful story’s quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max’s separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy."—Booklist

"Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens."—Kirkus Reviews

"There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection."—BCCB

"A slightly darker, updated take on magical realism classics such as Edward Eager’s Half Magic and E. Nesbit’s The Enchanted Castle."—School Library Journal

"A near-perfect 9....This book defies gravity because it’s hard to put down!"—Time for Kids, kid reporter

Baker & Taylor
Looking for excitement during a boring summer in the English countryside, Tess discovers a hidden castle where wishes come true and carnival games are in abundance before discovering that her family and friends are at risk of being trapped in a world of sinister hawthorn trees. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook.

Publisher: Philomel Books,, 2017
ISBN: 9780399546990
0399546995
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

KCLS_RobinH May 11, 2017

A 'gentle read', but with odd elements that were never explained. Two children staying with their aunt in England encounter a mysterious castle up the road, but upon returning, find that it's occupants deserted the location a century before. Time travel, or magic?

AL_ALYX Mar 07, 2017

While I was very intrigued by the first chapter, the plot didn't develop fully or quick enough to me and the stakes were rather boring. I also found the characters to be unoriginal and lackluster. Skip this one.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top