The Trials of Morrigan Crow

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
7
1
Rate this:
"A cursed child destined to die on her eleventh birthday is rescued and whisked away to a secret realm called Nevermoor and given the chance to compete for a place in a prestigious organization called the Wundrous Society"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Little, Brown and Company,, 2017
Edition: First US edition
ISBN: 9780316508889
0316508888
Characteristics: xiii, 465 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Madsen, Jim 1964-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

YLPLchildrens Apr 23, 2018

Enter the realm of Nevermoor where anything is possible! You will meet a talking cat so large you can ride it, explore a hotel that will change depending on the needs of the guests, jump from buildings with umbrellas and befriend a dragon rider. Told with vivid imagery, this book is packed full of action and adventure which will leave you full of wonder and wanting more. What a fun read.

l
lydia1879
Apr 22, 2018

This was such a fun romp!

It felt very much in the style of Neil Gaiman -- a young, dark, begrudging heroine who has no friends, until she does and goes on a completely mad adventure.

I loved the spectacle of this. It's clear the author has done a lot of world-building and established a fantastical place that has such a pull to it. I loved the names, they were so evocative and playful and overall just felt like this was a really accomplished piece.

I will say that I sometimes found Morrigan's fish-out-of-water status a little irritating. It was so repetitive and she had so many questions all the time I wish the author could've taken a different route. And yet I'm not upset by it because I feel like children who would be reading this would have the same questions as Morrigan, so...

A cracking good adventure tale with excellent pace, lovely characters and thoughtful details. Only wish lil baby me could read this!

b
bookkaren
Mar 31, 2018

Loved this book! We could not put it down and couldn't wait to see what was happening next. Strong female character with an awesome ensemble of supporting characters. Can not wait for the more of Morragin Crow.

AL_JESSICA Mar 23, 2018

Normally I'm skeptical when a book proclaims it's perfect for fans of Harry Potter, but in this case, I have to agree! Morrigan Crow's world is totally immersive and absolutely impossible to tear your eyes away from. I can't wait for the sequel- so many mysteries and adventures still await!

ontherideau Feb 14, 2018

Climb on board a gigantic mechanical spider and journey to a hotel where the head of housekeeping is a gigantic cat with eyes the size of a fist and gravity can be suspended, sort of like the internet going down.
This is a work of fantastic imagination. Lucky children who encounter such a story.

AL_TANYA Nov 17, 2017

This is probably the best book that I have read this year! A great read-a-like for Harry Potter fans. This book also has elements that remind me of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. I could not recommend this book more!

Mr_Cliff Nov 13, 2017

I really liked this one! It is the first in a potential series, and it includes magic, mystery, adventure, friendship, an eccentric mentor, and a wildly magical hotel where your room gets to know you over time and turns into your perfect room and a chandelier that grows and falls out and grows again like a tooth! Read it and find out if you might be a candidate for the Wundrous Society yourself some day.

Age

Add Age Suitability

g
gjrainey
Feb 12, 2018

gjrainey thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top