A Rogue by Any Other Name

A Rogue by Any Other Name

Large Print - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
1
Baker & Taylor
A decade ago, the Marquess of Bourne was cast from society with nothing but his title. Now a partner in London's most exclusive gaming hell, the cold, ruthless Bourne will do whatever it takes to regain his inheritance -- including marrying perfect, proper Lady Penelope Marbury. Bourne may be a prince of London's illicit underworld, but he vows to keep Penelope untouched by its wickedness -- a challenge indeed as the lady discovers her own desires, and her willingness to wager anything for them...

Baker
& Taylor

Determined to keep his new wife, the very proper Lady Penelope Marbury, away from London's illicit underworld, the Marquess of Bourne, the owner of London's most exclusive gaming hell, finds this task quite challenging when Penelope discovers her own desires. (romance).
The Marquess of Bourne, the owner of London's most exclusive gaming hell, is determined to keep his new wife, the very proper Lady Penelope Marbury, away from London's illicit underworld, but finds that she has goals of her own.

Publisher: Waterville, Me. : Thorndike Press, 2012
Edition: Large print ed
ISBN: 9781410449474
1410449475
Characteristics: 603 p. (large print) ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
cganderson
Jun 16, 2018

First MacLean book I've read and I must admit I'm hooked. Wonderful writing style, no irritating faux pas, no historical figure ID theft for her characters nor historical inaccuracies (that I could notice)...unlike James and Kleypass, I might add. And while I love (or hate) James or Kleypass (depending on the book), I can find absolutely no fault with MacLean (on this book, that is). Her writing style is fun, her plots move you constantly forward, her characters feel absolutely real with not a single whiff of forced plot twists or behaviors or 'jerks who win despite being jerks'.

Her hero, acting like a jerk with a need for vengeance, is still likable - because he is so real (without being the kind of real that makes you turn to books!) You understand how conflicted he is, and how he truly hates himself for what is he doing, but feels unable to stop himself...so you know and hope that our heroine will find a way through this. Not to mention, you realize that she loves him but also realizes that it is foolish, that she is torn between wanting him and wanting to break his neck! So she isn't just a 'if I love him no matter what, it will be all right' insipid character - far from it. She is very real and very strong, and you are routing for her when she decides to give him a piece of her mind in anger. And the supporting characters are wonderful and complex. You realize that none of them are false either, even the villain - who truly is a jerk and happy to be one!

You really understand these characters and their pain, indecision, love, fears, everything. Nothing feels forced or out of place. Quite refreshing for me, after Eloisa James or Kleypas.

That the story is a typical one for adventure or romance novels doesn't bother me. As one famous Swedish writer said (forget his name), there are no new stories in the world, but how you tell that story is what matters. MacLean tells a great story, a believable story, and a fun story that helps you escape into another world.

I'm looking forward to reading more of her work.

w
warhammer41
Jan 25, 2018

Very good and quick read. I have read most of the author's books and I have loved them.

CMLibrary_sdeason Feb 03, 2016

On his quest for revenge, Bourne forces his childhood friend into marriage to gain back his property. Lady Penelope recognizes the boy she once adored, but quickly learns that this man will need help reclaiming more than just property. Excellent!

m
martha_w
Sep 28, 2015

I recently read MacLean's Love By Numbers series, and was excited to read this quartet since it features some minor characters from that trilogy, and was not disappointed. While this doesn't break much new ground in the well-mined territory of Regency romances, both main characters are interesting with intriguing backstories, the supporting characters are excellent, and the setup for later books in the series has me eager to read more. MacLean balances romance and humor quite well, and I'd recommend this for fans of Julia Quinn and Eloisa James.

a
acornsandnuts
Nov 07, 2013

Maclean’s latest focuses on Lady Penelope Marbury, years after she was jilted by the Duke of Leighton (as told in Maclean’s previous book, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart). Michael, Marquess of Bourne, lost his inheritance to his devious guardian, and, since then, has increased his funds and his notoriety -- but not his respectability -- by running one of London’s most exclusive gaming hells. Still, he wants what he does not have: social standing, and his childhood home, which has been offered up as part of his childhood friend Penelope’s dowry. Naturally, he kidnaps Penelope and marries her, and she pretends to all it is a love match.

With her trademark humor and wit, Maclean offers up another heroine in the vein of Austen: smart, plucky, and opinionated, but all too familiar with the strictures society places on her. The challenges Penelope faces in her marriage to Bourne are at turns frustrating and heartwarming, and the growth and change in Penelope and Bourne’s marriage makes for a read that is at turns fun, engrossing, and steamy.

Age

Add Age Suitability

brihawkins13 Apr 06, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top