August Wilson

August Wilson

Book - 2009
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A research and study guide to four plays by August Wilson includes plot summaries, lists of characters, and critical views.

Facts on File

August Wilson’s group of 10 plays, often referred to as the Pittsburgh Cycle or the Century Cycle, established his reputation as one of the nation’s most important, prolific, and honored playwrights. A two-time recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, Wilson wrote often tragicomic works, including Fences, Two Trains Running, and The Piano Lesson, that spoke not only to the African-American experience but to the social changes and upheavals that gripped the United States in the 20th century. This collection of critical essays features notes on the contributors, a chronology, a bibliography, and an introductory essay from master literary scholar Harold Bloom.

& Taylor

Each book in the series provides a complex critical portrait of one of the most influential writers in the world, enhanced with an introduction by Harold Bloom, a useful chronology, and a concise bibliography.

Publisher: New York, NY : Bloom's Literary Criticism, c2009
ISBN: 9781604133936
Characteristics: vii, 192 p. ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Bloom, Harold


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top