A Caldecott Celebration

A Caldecott Celebration

Seven Artists and Their Paths to the Caldecott Medal

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
To celebrate the seventieth anniversary of the Caldecott Medal and another decade of award-winning picture books, noted childrens book historian Leonard S. Marcus has updated this absorbing and informative picture of the worlds most prestigious illustration award and seven of its acclaimed winners: Robert McCloskey, Marcia Brown, Maurice Sendak, William Steig, Chris Van Allsburg, David Wiesner, and now Mordicai Gerstein. Along with a newly added preface and an introduction that provides a historical perspective on the origins of the award, Marcus takes us into the studios and behind the drawing boards of these seven noteworthy artists, each representing a decade of the awards history. Through personal anecdotes and glimpses of their prize-winning books and works in progress, from doodles to sketches to dummies to finished art, readers will find out how their favorite picture books were imagined and created. The artists reveal their inspirations, work processes, and private reactions to receiving this unparalleled honor.
Publisher: New York : Walker & Co. : Distributed to the trade by Holtzbrinck Publishers, 2008
Edition: Expanded 2008 ed
ISBN: 9780802797032
Characteristics: 55 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 28 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top